top of page
iainmcclosky

Sword and Impact Sound Recording



Being back at my parents in the Isle of Lewis for the Christmas holidays has been great for helping me record sounds I plan to use for my college work and portfolio.

Today I had my dad help me record knife/sword sounds, for my Elder Scrolls Online Trailer Resound. We had the knife scrape on the sharpener to micic sword parry and scrapes. Impact sounds were also used by banging the sharpening pole onto a book in my room, as well as hitting the blade onto the sharpening pole. I have now began to create samples from these recordings on Ableton and store them in a soundbank for this project. I expect the soundbank to be very large by the end of all this, but I am making better progress now that I have specific recordings that I need.

I already have a good amount of footstep recordings on different materials, however I recorded more during this holiday to give me a large selection to choose from.

Other important note, I have started to record outdoor ambience. Specifically by the sea and rivers, with wind in the background. More will have to be recorded. And I believe it is now time to contact my friend/voice actor regarding dialogue samples.




Me recording in the shed with my Rode VideoMic Shotgun Microphone and Zoom Recorder H4N, monitoring with my trusty Sennheiser HD 25 headphones!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page